All Geek To Me

Pure Geekness

Movie of the Month – January 2012

Hello folks, Hmsbeefnuts here, welcome to our regular column, Movie of the Month. Guess what it’s about? Go on, I dare you…Yes that’s right, it’s the Movie that is out this month, that we, or at least one of us, is most looking forward too, and won’t shut up about. Now not all these Movies will be good, some might even be awful, but they are the Movies that most stroke our Geeky natures and tell us that everything will be great and amazing.

As the first in a regular series, we aren’t really sure where this is going, or what it will end up being, so bare with us, and lets kick things off, as we mean to go on, with….. THE GREY. The Grey (Dir. Joe Carnahan), looks absolutely amazing. Liam Neeson is on a bit of a roll at the moment in my book. I loved him in Taken, he was great in The A-Team, and I also enjoyed Unknown. In The Grey, Neeson plays the leader of an Oil Drilling team, who’s plane crash lands in the wilderness, so far so ALIVE!, but this time, the crash survivors may wish they hadn’t survived. Hunting the crash survivors are a pack of blood thirsty wolves. Yeah, you want to see it right? Who wouldn’t. The Taken guy vs wolves, man vs wolf, my money is on Qui Gon Jinn.

The movie played at Buttnumbathon 13 (Harry Knowles’ annual Birthday bash) and went down a storm. The trailer looks exciting, tense and pretty much everything the premise should ummm promise. I love a man vs animal movie, JAWS, being a particular favourite, and whether this is JAWS, with a WOLF, or something else entirely, I am majorly excited to watch it. It comes out Jan. 27th, and if there is a better film this year, I will eat my hat. This offer does not include The Hobbit, and The Avengers. Oh and The Dark Knight Rises, well you get the idea anyway. Here’s the trailer…

 

 Ok yes HMS Beefnuts is right the winner this month is clearly The Grey. However may I Geeky Gem take a moment of your time to fight in the corner for Underworld: Awakening.

Okay so it’s been a few year’s since Underworld first hit the big screen but now it’s back and bigger and badder than before. At the helm this time round is Måns Mårlind and Björn Stein. Thank the movie gods they have not re-cast Selene and she is still played by the awesomely cool Kate Beckinsale.

Your know there will be more of the same cool gun fights and  awesome special effects. Things may blow up and the more the better if you ask me.

When human forces discover the existence of the Vampire and Lycan clans, a war to eradicate both species commences. The vampire warrioress Selene leads the battle against humankind. Plus let’s face we could do with some real vampire’s and werewolves after the stuff of recent months. Come on some one had to mention the CGI rubbbish we have seen these past few years.

So for you consideration I give you the trailer for Underworld Awakening.

 

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Movie of the Month – January 2012

  1. Hmm. I really don’t know if I can agree with either of these choices… The Grey trailer really hasn’t done it for me. And I can’t stand the Underworld series so that’s a no no.

    I’m struggling to see how you could have over looked War Horse or The Descendants! Both have spectacular trailers, and when Spielberg is on good form you’ll be pushed to find a better director.

    The Descendants has had an amazing amount of support from critics and viewers, and I believe George Clooney has developed in a fantastic actor, picking his roles admirably over the past few years (The american, Fantastic Mr Fox, Up in the Air.)

  2. Good points, however, for me, and remember this is a personal opinion, War Horse looks too soppy, I’m sure it will be good, but I’m just not that interested in it. The Descendants looks OK too, but again I like Liam Neeson over Clooney (who was in the superior Batman Movie?) and whilst I’m sure it will be good Oscar bait, it doesnt have a man strapping glass to his fists and punching wolves, and that’s why it isn’t getting movie of the month around these parts. I will definatley watch both War Horse and The Descendants, thanks for the comment.

Leave a Reply

