All Geek To Me

Pure Geekness

Our Geeky Love in Continues… with a love letter to a speacial something…

 Dearest JAWS,

I’m not really any good at stuff like this, so, forgive me if I ramble. I just wanted you to know how special you are, how amazing, how much I love you, always have, and always will. Lets start at the beginning. Off the top of my head, I can’t recall the first time I set eyes on you, perhaps it was in my living room, it must have been when I was very young, too young really to know my true feelings for you at the time. All I knew is that, once I saw you, I wanted more, more and more, I knew you were a good thing, and you made me happy, but also scared me, thrilled me, it was a new feeling I had felt very rarely.

Sure there had been others, some almost as good as you. I had flirted with Jason and the Argonauts, and dalliance with Disney’s Robin Hood, and more serious affairs with Raiders of the Lost Ark and The Goonies, but it was you, you were always number one JAWS, and you always will be. There were others after you, a long relationship with Lord of The Rings, The 13th Warrior and Batman Begins, but none can really compare to you, they are all in your shadow. Let me tell you why…

I know now that you were the first blockbuster, that you kick started the summer movie season, that you were a phenomena and revolutionised the industry. When I first saw you though, I didn’t know any of this, all I knew was that you were about a gigantic shark, who killed people, you scared me, and you had three men, three heroes who inspired and entertained me. Who doesn’t like giant animals causing havoc in small town America? Who hasn’t enjoyed your countless imitators? But you were the original, you were the one that started it all, at least in my mind.

I love how you are put together. A perfect mix of action, adventure and horror. I love how you look, don’t ever bow to pressure to CGI yourself, you are perfect just as you are. I love how you do that little thing with the head, you know the thing, it gets me every time, even though I’m expecting it. The way you talk, when Quint says the speech about catching the shark, or the U.S.S. Indianapolis speech, perfection!! How do you do it?

Quint. Quint is one of my favourite things about you, one of my favourite things about movies full stop. Even as a boy I knew he was great, a real man, someone, although at times irrational and dangerous, to look up too, to admire. Then there is Brody and Hooper, a perfect double act, but also one that proves that three doesn’t have to be a crowd. The bravery, the comedy, the desperation, all part of the great mix that is you.

Yes there have been your imitators, and yes, I have gone back to you, JAWS 2, JAWS 3D and JAWS: THE REVENGE. But sometimes the old adage is true, you can never go back. They were fun of course, it was fun catching up, but the first time is always the most memorable. I rode you at Universal Studios, not the most technological ride, but the most fun in my opinion, over those two weeks I would ride you several times, always worth it.

I’ve been babbling on now for probably far too long. But I can’t think of any other way to express my love for you. My favourite movie. The movie I can watch when I’m down, and it will fill me with happiness, and hope. The movie I can watch again and again, and never get bored. There will be other films, there have been other films, but you are the one, the one I will always return to. Thank you JAWS, thank you for being you.

Love you, Hmsbeefnuts.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

