All Geek To Me

Pure Geekness

Movie of the Month – March 2012

By HMSBEEFNUTS and Geeky Gem

Geeky Gem was proved right last month with her pick of The Woman in Black, damn her eyes, which was clearly much better than Ghost Rider: Spirit of Vengeance. There is then, a lot of pressure on me this month to get back on top, in my completely imaginary competition, of who will pick the most, best movies of the month, between Geeky Gem and myself. I make it 1 – 1 so far. Anyway, back to the matter in hand. March is in some ways the beginning of blockbuster season, it kicks off properly next month with The Avengers, but we have a few early starters this month.

 Geeky Gem will undoubtedly be tooting her movie geek horn all over The Hunger Games, I know she loves the book, and her Blackberry avatar is the Hunger Games logo, so I imagine below she will be letting us all know why we should go see it. I’ll admit, I know nothing about the franchise, beyond having seen the trailer, and to be honest it didn’t take my movie going fancy, however, I trust Gem and will check it out when it comes out.  This month, I will be rooting for two films, John Carter and Wrath of the Titans.

 

Wrath of the Titans ticks a lot of my geek boxes. Ancient History, huge monsters, Greek soldiers, swords, Liam Neeson. However, I can’t help but feel a little apprehensive. The re-make of Clash of the Titans, was one of the worst experiences I’ve had in a cinema. I was looking forward to it so much, and I just kind of hated it. But I am hopeful for this sequel. Without the burden of a classic original to live up to, this new story should have the space to breathe and be it’s own thing. The trailer looks pretty good, Liam Neeson, and lots of action, Liam Neeson. Did I mention Liam Neeson? Well he is in it and is great in everything so it can’t be that bad. Here is the trailer for your viewing pleasure….

I think it looks rather good. But, will it be better than John Carter? John Carter has an awful name. It says nothing about what the film is about, and I originally thought Disney had made a huge fuck up with its marketing. However, a few weeks ago, I started to see a bit more advertising and more aggressive explanations about what this movie is all about. Basically, an American Civil War soldier gets transported to Mars, where he leads a faction of Martians against another, in a war, so far so Avatar, but did I mention that Martian gravity allows his human body to perform super-human feats, so Avatar with Superman, on Mars? Yes please. Based on Tarzan creator, Edgar Rice-Burroughs, Princess of Mars, this could be a Sci-Fi epic. The effects look good, and the story, whilst standard American lands somewhere and becomes the best fighter on the planet/village (see Last Samurai, Dances With Wolves, and Avatar), I think this has potential. Here is the trailer…

Only one may become my choice for movie of the month, as I’ve been told I’m not allowed to hedge my bets, damn you imagined rules!!! So, ummmm, I’m going to go for John Carter, based on the facts that, I’m still a little worried about the Clash of the Titans effect, Sam Worthington’s silly accents, and the fact that the chick in John Carter is absolutely gorgeous, poor reasons you may think, well, we shall see.

Yes Hmsbeefnuts is right I will indeed being telling you to go see The Hunger Games but I have my reasons and here they are. Well with Harry Potter over, I had a search on my hands for something else that would spark my interest as much as Potter did. Well low and behold a few months ago I found it in Suzanne Collins trilogy The Hunger Games.

The Hunger Games is a science fiction novel; it was first published in 2008 and the sequels, Catching Fire and The Mocking Jay, followed. The Hunger Games revolves around Katniss Everdeen, who lives in a post-apocalyptic world in the country of Panem. The government in these times is The Capital, and they hold the power against all 12 Districts who 74 years ago raised up against them, they failed to over throw The Capital, and now every year, The Capital keeps them in line by showing them what will happen to their children if they try again.  Like I said, once a year The Capital holds The Hunger Games, in which one male and one female tribute, aged between 12 to 18, are sent to the arena to fight or die, to show the 12 districts that The Capital is still in control.

The reason I cannot wait to see this movie is because the book was so good. I breezed through it in a matter of days and the squeals quickly followed. Now please do not make the mistake that this is like Battle Royale, although at first it sounds the same, it’s not, and it’s not like Twilight either. I have heard people describe it as both these movies and they are wrong. This movie will stand alone, and will show you what it has to offer.

When I found out Lionsgate had bought the rights to the film I was overjoyed. It will star Jennifer Laurence as Katniss. She will star alongside Josh Hutcherson, Liam Hemsworth, Elizabeth Banks, Woody Harrelson, Lenny Kravitz and Stanley Tucci, which opens in cinemas on 23rd of March 2012.

Here for your viewing pleasure is the trailer and I hope you will at least consider going to see this movie as well.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

