All Geek To Me

Pure Geekness

House M.D

Everybody Lies.

By Geeky Gem

House M.D is a show I was a little late getting to. I only started watching the show last year, and have yet to catch up, but have got as far as the end of season four. So my knowledge will stop there, however, I didn’t think it would be a problem if I was to write a piece on my favourite T.V Doctor.

Now as I said I was a little late with this one, I have this thing with shows were if people go on and on about how good it is, I won’t watch it, and this is due to the fact I think they are lying. However in the last few months I have been proved wrong by friends and family. Many of my friends had told me that House was very good, and that I would like it, however, something in the back of my mind kept telling me not to watch it. One day last year I asked my friend if I could borrow his season one box set, he kindly lent it to me and that was it, I was hooked, I think I watched season one in something like three or four days, I loved it. For those of you not in the know House is an American television medical drama that was first shown on the Fox network in 2004. The show has gone on to produce another eight seasons. It has recently been confirmed that season eight will be the last.

The show centre’s around Dr. Gregory House, played by the fantastic Hugh Laurie, and his unconventional and misanthropic medical genius, who heads up a team of diagnosticians. This all takes place at the fictional Princeton-Plainsboro Teaching Hospital in New Jersey. The shows premise came from Paul Attanasio; While David Shore created the character. The shows producer is none other than Brayn Singer.  House never really plays by the rules, and this often leads him into trouble and confrontation with the Dean of Medicine, Dr. Lisa Cuddy played by Lisa Edelstein. Through the show House only really has one friend, as people remark he is hard to get on with, this poor suffering soul is Dr. James Wilson played by Robert Sean Leonard. Dr. Wilson is the Head of the Oncology Department and has the misfortune of having the office next to House.

Though out the first three seasons of the show House’s team is made up of Dr. Robert Chase played by Jesse Spencer, Dr. Allison Cameron played by Jennifer Morrison and Dr. Eric Foreman played by Omar Epps. As some of the characters move on to different things the team changes. However, as I said earlier, I have only got as far as season four. So I have only come across a few more members of the team. For example I know that Dr. Remy “Thirteen” Hadley is played by Olivia Wilde, Dr. Chris Taub played by Peter Jacobson and Dr. Lawrence Kutner played by Kal Penn. These last three members appear in season fou,r when House devises a game in order to pick a new team. By far my favorite season so far.

The style out the show is fairly straight forward, someone is admitted to the hospital with a mystery disease, and the team has to figure it out before it’s too late. This will lead to House breaking some kind of rule, and the team trying to stop him. Along with the weekly sick person, there are also side cases in the clinic which can be a little funny, and are there to lighten up the show. You also have the season story arch going on all the time. This entire thing put together makes for a fantastic show.

Hugh Laurie is brilliant, and not a lot of people in America know he is actually British, Bryan Singer didn’t even know when he cast him, which to me is brilliant and somewhat funny. Now if you haven’t had a chance to enjoy House, I must tell you have to give it a go. People are right, this show is fantastic, and I have no trouble sitting back and watching episode after episode. I once watched eight in a row and didn’t even realize I had done it.

The writing on the show is as genius as the direction, the music fits in perfectly. I have a thing where if the music doesn’t fit the scene I tend to be pulled out the show/movie I am watching, I think it is because I not only studied Media at school, I took Film as well, so I still have a nasty habit of watching things with critical eye. House is not like other medical drama’s out there, so you can’t watch it expecting a E.R or Casualty type tale, it’s just not like that. That’s not to say that these shows are not good as well, but House is on level of its own. I hope you check it out and enjoy it as much as I do. I am off to find season five and get back to it before my friend stops talking to me as he has been waiting ages for me to carry on.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “House M.D

  1. Kareem Bayala on said:

    i always watch house md because the story line is great and you learn something about medicine too. ‘

    Our favorite web site
    http://www.prettygoddess.com

Leave a Reply

