All Geek To Me

Pure Geekness

The Wolf Gift

By Ammzzy

Intro By

Hmsbeefnuts

Hello internet. Hmsbeefnuts here with a bit of a special treat for you, and me if I’m honest. Today I get to take a break from the usual grind of thinking of stuff to say. Instead of me babbling on about something, it is my great pleasure to introduce All Geek To Me’s first guest writer. A very warm welcome to Ammzzy, who will be offering up a book review. I won’t spoil the surprise, but will say that hopefully there will be more to come from her in the future, we all like a bit of time off now and again. So without further ado, please be upstanding and welcome Ammzzy.

 

I was sat as normal drinking my morning coffee when I heard the highly anticipated knock on the door.  I jumped up screeching like a wild woman and ran for the door.  With a girly little clap I signed for my parcel.  I tore off the cardboard wrapping as fast as I could and took my first look at my brand new Anne Rice novel, “The Wolf Gift”.  It was honestly for me, one of the best things I had ever seen.  I am as you can tell a big Anne rice fan.  Anne Rice is a queen among authors today having written many a novel.  She captures the imaginations of people from all over the world, and  I am proud to be one of those people. 

 

Anne’s most famous work is of course her Vampire Chronicles, which include; Interview with a Vampire and Queen of the Damned, both of which have movie adaptations.  Anne Rice’s vampires have influenced many of today’s modern takes of the subject, with Gothic sensuality, beauty, torment and of course blood lust.  Interview with a Vampire did well and is a good adaptation.  Queen of the Damned film adaptation was, in my own personal opinion, not so good.  Having read the books I found the film a bit disappointing.  However, if you have not read the books I am sure that the film was fine.  Following these two films another one is in the mix, “Tale of the Body Thief” which sees the Vampire Lestat switching bodies with a physic.  The film has been optioned by Brian Grazer and Ron Howards Imagine Entertainment.  I am naturally very excited about this, but at the same time a little apprehensive.  I desperately want the film to be fantastic, so I am going to keep my fingers crossed and hope to God that I am not disappointed.

Anne Rice hasn’t just written about vampires, but also, witches, ghosts, angels and Jesus Christ.  Her talent is incredible and brings her followers from all walks of life.  Anne Rice was for many years the truest of Christians and this can been seen in her books.  Due to her faith, Anne made the choice not to write about her vampires or things of such a dark, Gothic nature, and to instead dedicate her writing to Christ.  All of this changed when in 2010 she declared on her face book page that she was leaving Christianity saying   “In the name of Christ, I refuse to be anti-gay. I refuse to be anti-feminist. I refuse to be anti-artificial birth control. I refuse to be anti-Democrat. I refuse to be anti-secular humanism. I refuse to be anti-science. I refuse to be anti-life.”

This incredible change in her life opened up the door for her to write about other things.  Having conquered vampires it only seems natural that she would someday take on the man beast.  Anne chose to tell the story of a wolf man by the name of Reuben Golding.  I couldn’t wait to start reading this new adventure and fall in love with the characters.  Anne’s writing has never failed to captivate me as no other author can.  She has an incredible way of creating an environment for her characters allowing their world to come to life inside your head as you read.  You can always picture everything right down to the finest detail. 

 Anne’s new hero Reuben Golding is not like her beloved vampire Lestat, he is different; he is a new glorious man (not boy) for us to follow.  Reuben is a young reporter who doesn’t feel that he quite lives up to others expectations.  He is a fascinating character and I am thoroughly enjoying going on this journey with him, watching him change and adapt, entering his mind and experiencing the emotions of each dramatic event that occurs. 

As with most books there are dedications at the front.  I felt very touched with Anne’s last dedication to her people of the page.  This refers to her followers on her Facebook page, which I personally follow.  This was so wonderful and thoughtful of Anne.  This dedication makes me feel that there is something personal there for me and the rest of Anne’s loyal followers. 

 

As big a fan of Anne Rice as I am, I’m afraid to admit that I have been away from her books for a long time.  When I started to read this new novel I felt a slight tinge of guilt and I think I almost cried. (I didn’t because I was on the bus)  I thought, ‘how could I have been away from this for so long?’  I had almost forgotten what it felt like to get lost in her words.  I love that feeling and the smell of a new book is one of the best smells in the world.  Even though we have the wonderful invention of the e reader I don’t think that we can ever replace the traditional book. 

Over the years Anne Rice has become a truly concrete part of my life and will forever be an inspiration to me.  I know that I am not the only one.  Anne has become a fundamental part of many people’s lives.  Her books are amazing gifts to the world.  Reuben has his wolf gift, Lestat his vampire gift and we all have the Anne Rice gift.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

