All Geek To Me

Pure Geekness

Thundercats

Sight Beyond Sight

By Geeky Gem 

As some of you may know, I am a child of the Eighties, so I have a certain affection for cartoons from that decade. One of my all time favourite cartoons was Thundercats. I even had the toy sword that lit up and made a noise when you pushed a button on the hilt, I used to go around shouting Thunder, Thunder, Thundercats Ho!, at the top of my lungs at every known opportunity. Needless to say, I never missed show. So when I heard through the grapevine that they were rebooting my beloved cartoon, I was happy, but understandably worried at the same time. What were they about to do to my much loved childhood cartoon? 

Anyway as I thought about it more, I realized it was unfair to judge this new version without at least watching it, so I did just that. I watched the first episode and really enjoyed it. The animation was fantastic, this is now done by a Japanese studio called Studio 4°C, who along with Warner Brothers Animation, have made a brilliant show.

Now as this is a more up to date version of the Thundercats, there have been some changes. Some are easy to accept, others take a while to get used to. For example Lion-O and Tygra are half brothers, they have the same father, Tygra is older than Lion-O, who will be King before Tygra, as he is heir of the King and Queen, the Queen is dead before I forget to mention this. So King Claudius raises the boys alone. Claudius is voiced by the original Lion-O, Larry Kenney. Tygra and Lion-O are voiced by Matthew Mercer and Will Friedle.

The other major change is to the location of the story, the Thundercats do not leave Thundera and the whole story takes place on their home planet instead of Earth. There are a few changes that are just fun, Snarf no longer speaks, which if you ask me is a good thing, he used to get on my wick.

There are some fantastic voice cast members in this production, I have mentioned a few above, but they are also joined by Clancy Brown, Dee Bradley Baker, Emmanuelle Chriqui and Kevin Michael Richardson. Additional voices are also given by Tara Strong and James Arnold Taylor among others.

The story arch for the first season goes along these lines, for generations, the Thunderians have lived and thrived in the kingdom of Thundera. However one fateful night the Lizard Army attacks, being led by the evil sorcerer Mumm-Ra, (Who hasn’t changed at all), along with Grune the Destroyer who has turned his back on the race of Cats. Thundera is destroyed, Lion-o, Tygra, Cheetara, WilyKit, WilyKat and Panthro are the soul remaining members of a now dead race, and Young Lion-O takes up the mantle of leader, as he wields the power of the Sword of Omens. The group flees in order to look for the Book of Omens, which is said to hold the knowledge to defeat Mumm-Ra.

 Like I said I really liked it, the new version is full of action and peril. The music and the animation work in tandem together and it all fits rather nicely together. Once you get over the changes, it becomes a really enjoyable show.

If you get a chance to watch an episode, I highly recommend you do. Even if you don’t like the changes, at least stick with till you see the Thunder Tank. That alone is a reason to watch the show, it is epic.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

