All Geek To Me

Pure Geekness

WWE and Me

 A Girl’s View

By Geeky Gem

Now over the last few weeks Mr Beefnuts has been telling you about his love for the WWE, which I have enjoyed reading as I too am a fan of the WWE. This may sound strange to some people, seeing as I am a girl but I kid you not, I too have had an on and off affair with the world of wrestling.

When I was very young, the WWF, as it was then known, was only shown over here very late at night, in a Friday. My Dad used to let me and my brother stay up and watch it if we had been good. So as you can imagine me and my brother never misbehaved on a Friday. A fact my father cottoned on to so we had to be good for more than just Friday.

Back then my favourite wrestler was The Ultimate Warrior or Macho Man Randy Savage where my brother liked Hulk Hogan and Bret “The Hitman” Hart. This alone would cause an argument over who was best. My brother was the one with all the action figures and the ring to play with, which I have found out he still has. Some of them even have action moves. That’s right folk’s action moves, bet you’re jealous. My brother even had a belt, I believe it was the world heavy weight championship belt, which he and my cousin would mock fight for, I was always the referee, not sure why.

Anyway one night there was a competition running on some programme where you could win a t-shirt and a CD if you called and told them why you liked wrestling so much, my brother entered and won. He was so happy but the t-shirt didn’t fit him so he gave it to me, it was a Wrestlemaina one, I forget what year but it was black and gold. I wore it for years.

Shortly after that, my Dad took us to our first wrestling experience. It was low league wrestlers but it was fantastic. We were shouting for the good guys and booing the bad guys, like you should, it was brilliant, but the best was yet to come.

Living in Cardiff it wasn’t often that the WWF came to UK but when they did it was always London and we could never go. Then my Dad (can you see a theme here. Mum didn’t like Wrestling) got wind that the WWF where coming to Cardiff. My brother and I badly wanted to go. But it was a big ask, so we forgot all about it and got used to the fact we weren’t going. Then Dad came home one night sat us down, gave his serious voice which to me and my brother could only mean we had done something wrong, we were pretty sure we hadn’t. Anyway Dad handed me and envelope and said open it carefully. Which I did inside were three tickets to the wrestling in Cardiff, my brother and I have never screamed so much in our lives. We jumped on our Dad and said thank you like a million times.

We waited and waited for the night to come round, we very lucky to actually have seats in the front row, I have never been that close to anything since. We went along with Dad, who bought us both Bret “The Hitman” Hart t-shirts. There is picture evidence of these t-shirts in my parents’ home. Anyway, we sat and waited, every time a wrestler came on we would jump up and run to the barrier sticking our hands out hoping for a high-five from one of the many stars.

 

Then The Hitman came out well my brother and I were really happy, we ran again to the barrier and this time The Hitman high fived us both we couldn’t believe it. I don’t think we wanted to wash our hands for like a week after. We didn’t get his sunglasses but a high-five was good enough for us. When we went home we kept our mum up for a whole hour telling her all about it. Then we went to bed.

Some years after that I became a teenager, I drifted in and out of WWE as I was growing up. Well I thought I was but that is tale for another time.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

