All Geek To Me

Pure Geekness

Movie of the Month – April 2012

 By Geeky Gem and Hmsbeefnuts

 

As you know it is a new month, which here at All Geek to Me can mean only one thing. That I have to pick a film that will be better than Hmsbeefnuts movie last month and take part in his game, that he makes up the rules for and doesn’t tell me.

Now usually the picking of Movie of the Month leaves me pondering what I should pick, however this month has been the easiest choice I have ever had to make. Fans of this certain genre will know that this movie has been a long time in the making and in case you missed that nice shiny banner at the top of the page then you’re stupid. No, no I kid, not stupid just….well yes you’re stupid. That’s right folk’s this month’s movie that we here at All Geek can’t wait to see is The Avengers.

Before I go into why we should go watch this frankly beautiful looking movie I have to get something of my chest. You may have noticed that I called it The Avengers, now if you live here in UK and have been to a cinema in the last few weeks you may have noticed that The Avengers has gone through a name change. It is now called and this is only in UK mind Avengers Assemble, now I refuse to call it this and so do many of my friends, the reason for the change was that we folk here in the UK may confuse it with a television programme that was aired here many moons ago called The Avengers, some of us may even recall a film based on said show starring Sean Connery. Seen as this change has been made we have to live with it, but it doesn’t mean we have to like. Moving on, as thinking about this just makes me cry.

As we know all The Avengers have pretty much had an origin story movie leading up to this point where they now team up to save the world from evil. All kinds of evil and they have a Hulk, come on who’s going to win. Nick Fury and the international agency S.H.I.E.L.D. bring together a team of super humans to form The Avengers to help save the Earth from Loki & his army. To be honest this movie looks amazing and I really hope it is as I, as many of us have waited a long time to see. Let’s just hope Mr Wheadon has got it right, so here for your viewing pleasure, I hope you have tissues as you may cry at its beauty is The Avengers trailer.

Now remember The Avengers hits screen’s in the UK on April 27th, put it on your calendar, go do it now. 

Geeky Gem 

Last month, I picked John Carter as our All Geek To Me Movie of the Month, and despite Disney and the US audience not really giving two shits about it, I still maintain that not only is John Carter clearly the best movie in March, but it will be one of the best Movies this year. GO SEE IT. Right, enough of that, it’s time for this month, and April presents a bit of a problem to be honest, at least for me. Geeky Gem above has outlined why April is one of the biggest geek months this year, and I’m finding it very hard to actually do my job and pick an alternative pick. Umm…. well… fuck it, I’m just gona back The Avengers as well. Why not? There are no firm rules, and you can’t make me choose something else.

 

If things were different and I was forced to make a choice I would recommend that, if The Avengers isn’t for you, and if you don’t like going to the movies, may I suggest that the movie of the month may be 10 or 12 hours long, and broken up weekly. I am of course talking about Game of Thrones. I’ve recently re-watched the first season on Blu-ray, and it is by far the greatest TV show I have ever seen. I can’t wait for season 2 to start, it’s going to be epic.

 

OK for basic professionalism I will attempt to outline a few choices. So here we go… Friday 13th brings us Lockout and Cabin in The Woods. Both look interesting especially Cabin n the Woods. I’m not a Whedon Fan, more on that later, but this looks fun. Friday 20th brings us, according to this list I have Battleship and Jeff Who Lives At Home, both very different. Battleship looks like Battle: Los Angeles at Sea, but that may not be such a bad thing, the mighty Liam Neeson is in it after all. Jeff could be a nice little indie comedy, fingers crossed. That’s it for April really, looks quite interesting. However, I don’t think I can endorse any other film then… 27th April’s The Avengers.

 

I have been looking forward to The Avengers since Iron Man. But I have my worries. I don’t like being negative to something I haven’t seen, but I really don’t like Joss Whedon. I hated Buffy, Angel, Firefly and Serenity. They just aren’t for me. I can see why people would like them, but, I just don’t click with it. However, The Avengers has looked great since the very first trailer, and I have been told that Whedon’s comic runs on Marvel properties are excellent, so surely this will be the film of the year so far? Whedon writes a lot of smart and sharp dialogue, and no one does this better than Downey Jnr. I can’t wait to see how these guys are gona fit together. Captain America is my personal favourite Avenger, and I can’t wait to see how this man out of time fits in with a playboy billionaire, a God, a troubled scientist and the rest. Sparks will fly, and I really can not wait to see this movie. For the first, but probably not the last time, All Geek To Me is behind one movie for a month. It has to be The Avengers, Make Mine Marvel!

Hmsbeefnuts

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

