All Geek To Me

Pure Geekness

Kevin Smith: Still Geek?

By Geeky Gem

 

When I was younger, my favourite director was Stephen Spielberg. All I ever wanted to do was be a film maker just like him, I loved everything he did. E.T: The Extra Terrestrial was one of my favourite all time films as a kid. I think I drove my grandfather mad when he used to look after me, while my parents worked, as I always bought it with me. As I grew up and my taste changed and I started to find new directors that I liked, one such director was Kevin Smith.

Kevin Smith is an American screenwriter, actor, film producer, and director, as well as a popular comic book writer, author, comedian/raconteur, and internet radio personality, best recognized to most people, as Silent Bob. Although he is well known for his View Askew film series, Smith also wrote, directed and produced films such as the buddy cop movie Cop Out, as well as the horror film Red State. Showing that he can turn his hand to any genre. His first several films were mostly set in his home state of New Jersey, and while not strictly sequential, they frequently feature crossover plot elements, character references, and a shared canon in what is known by fans as the “View Askewinverse”, named after his production company View Askew Productions, which he co-founded with Scott Mosier.

Smith is also the owner of Jay and Silent Bob’s Secret Stash comic book and novelty store in New Jersey. He also hosts a weekly podcast with Scott Mosier known as Smodcast and is an avid user of Twitter.

My first experience of the Viewaskewaverse, was not what you may have thought. I didn’t see Clerks first, but Dogma, in the cinema with some friends. We had a riot with the film, I laughed so hard my sides hurt.

That’s when I thought I could really like this guy and went back to find his back catalogue of films. I started with Clerks, because it was first, and as you go through his movies, characters and storylines cross over and this makes the whole experience a little bit richer. I really like the way Smith writes and to know he has a background in comics makes his work even better.

The main reason Smith became one of my favorite directors was because of Clerks. It was funny, it was witty and it was in black and white, come on what a way to make a film. Just look at the Oscars, The Artist was black and white. The biggest upset for me was when Smith was meant to direct the Green Hornet a show I used to watch with my Dad, and I thought ‘yes this will be brilliant’, but then something went wrong and Smith’s Green Hornet was never made. However there are a few movies he has made that I just can’t bring myself to watch, Jersey Girl being one.

Kevin Smith I think is still a geek, but in my mind he is losing his edge, which is sad as he was fantastic back in the day of Clerks and Mallrats.

Come back Kevin Smith be a geek again.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

