All Geek To Me

Pure Geekness

Avenging April: My favourite Mutants

By @hmsbeefnuts

Geeky Gem, in a previous article, picked her favourite mutant superheroes, and bloody well picked most of my favourites too. I was left with a bit of a problem, do I just go ahead, pick Wolverine, Gambit and Beast for my top 5? Or do I try and think of an alternative top 5 of mutant characters that I think are really cool. I chose the former, I loved Wolverine too much, but then half way through I had a change of heart, deleted what I had typed and racked my brains trying to think of some lesser known mutants, or at least, mutants Gem had not chosen. I didn’t take that long, thanks largely to the rich Marvel characters that inhabit their universe, I soon had 5 characters that were different and, perhaps just as good as Geeky Gems choices? So don’t go expecting Wolverine and Gambit, and certainly not Cyclops, but here, may I present to you, my alternative 5 favourite Mutants…

Deadpool

 

Deadpool is just fucking cool, everyone knows this. Not only does his long list of powers include, a regenerative healing factor, superhuman stamina, agility, reflexes,longevity, an immunity to telepathy, a master swordsman, marksman and martial artist, he can also teleport, thanks to a teleportation device. Oh, he also has the ability to break the fourth wall, almost as if he knows he is a comic character. Deadpool is often thought to be insane, but that is his greatest attribute in fights. For instance, he is so unpredictable that the Taskmaster could not defeat him, and even the mighty Ghost Riders Penance Stare could not stop him. Deadpool’s insanity is thought to stem from the cancer that he had, his healing factor advancing and making it worse, but also making him better at the same time. He has horrible scars all over his body, thus the full body suit. A master assassin, and mercenary Deadpool works as an effective hero, anti-hero or villain.

Sebastian Shaw

 

Casual fans may know him from the recent X-Men First Class film, Shaw has one of the cooler mutant powers. A self made man, Shaw was a billionaire by the time he was 40. He joined the villainous Hellfire Club, and eventually, in a coup took the organisation over, and tried to take over the world. This obviously brought him into contact with the X-Men. Shaw’s powers change any energy that he touches into a power that he can use. This includes bullets. He retains the energy and can use it against his enemies, giving him greater physical advantages. I particularly liked Kevin Bacon’s portrayal of Shaw in the last X-Men film.

Longshot

 

OK, Longshot isn’t exactly a mutant, but he was once part of the X-Men and so counts in my book, plus he has an awesome power, one that I would very much like to have myself. Hailing from the Mojo controlled ‘Mojoverse’, Longshot rebelled against his slaver masters, and although losing, flees to Earth. Eventually returning to the Mojoverse to help free his former slave allies, he later joins the X-Men. Longshot’s powers include, a healing factor, superhuman agility, psychometry, and most importantly Probability manipulation. I think Longshot luck powers are one of the greatest powers one could posses, however, they only work in his favour if he does heroic acts, they reverse if he becomes selfish etc. Imagine just being able to pull off anything, it would be awesome.

Magneto

 

Born a German Jew, Max Eisenhardt was captured after fleeing to Poland escaping the Nazi regime. His Mother, Father and sister were executed, but he survived thanks to his yet unknown powers. After meeting his young love in Auschwitz, Max managed to escape with her, but an unfortunate incident, where an angry mob burned their home down, and Max, in a rage killed them with his now enormous powers. The couple split and Max eventually took on the name Erik Lehnsherr. Meeting Charles Xavier in Israel, a battle with HYDRA  caused a rift between the burgeoning friends when Erik realised his ideal and Xavier’s didn’t match up. Taking the name Magneto, Erik vowed never to let mutants be treated as he had been during the War. Magneto is one of the most powerful mutants, able to manipulate magnetism. He is able to fly, manipulate metal objects, and create force fields. Being a genius also helps quite a bit. I wasn’t a massive fan of Magneto, until I saw X-Men First Class. Hunting down the hidden Nazi’s was an amazing sequence, and I saw Magneto in a new light. The guy is awesome, and there are parts of me that support Magneto’s ideals over Xavier’s.

Mystique

Ah Mystique. An ageless shape shifter, with superhuman agility, a healing factor, and a skilled warrior and strategist, my kind of woman. Yes, in her normal form she is blue skinned, but she is undoubtedly beautiful, and I’ve always been a sucker for a red head. I’ll be completely honest, although I do think Mystique’s back story is extremely cool, she appears in this list because she is a stone cold fox, who could turn into an infinite number of stone cold foxes. Yes it’s perverted, yes she is an imaginary character but she was pretty sexy in all the movies. If I was Wolverine, I’d have dropped Jean Grey quick smart to get with Mystique, but then I’ve always had a soft spot for bad girl too.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

