All Geek To Me

Pure Geekness

My Geeky Trivia

By Geeky Gem

Well here we are week three of my four week run. I have sat and thought long and hard about what this week’s topic should be, so much so that I sat and looked at my DVD collection for a good five minutes, and then it hit me, they were just sitting there in there multi-coloured glory. Friends was a fantastic show that hit our screens in 1994 and here I am going to share some trivia about the show you may or may not know.

Jon Favreau was offered the part of Chandler, but he had to turn it down. He later returned as Monica’s boyfriend.

The show had a few different names before Friends was settled on, they were Friends Like Us, Six of One, Across the Hall and Insomnia Cafe.

The golden frame around the peephole originally had a mirror in it, which was accidentally smashed by a member of the crew, but they decided to leave it up as it looked nice.

Three cast members from The Simpsons make guest appearances in the series: Dan Castellaneta, Hank Azaria and Harry Shearer.

Matthew Perry and Bruce Willis made a bet on the set of The Whole Nine Yards, which Perry won, leading to Willis having to appear in two episodes of the show free of charge.

In Chandler and Joey’s room there is a poster with some boxing kangaroos which says “Kangaroo Boxer” in Russian.

Gunther was not originally a speaking part.

Lisa Kudrow was terrified of the Duck in Season 3.

Before the show was cast, the main love story was going to be Monica and Joey.

Chandler is the only one that has no siblings.

This show will always remind me of my teenage years, I never missed an episode and when the last episode was shown, I waited with baited breath like every Friends fan to find out if Rachael got off the plane and went back to Ross. It was just one of those shows that I couldn’t miss and I stuck with for 10 years, I am so very glad I did. Next week in my final week of my current run we shall return to the world of movies and one of the biggest franchises in the world. Then I shall be handing you back to Hmsbeefnuts for another of his runs, and I bet he can’t wait. What’s that you say he’s already in the corner shaking? Oh well.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “My Geeky Trivia

  1. I used to work with a guy from Zimbabwe who was obsessed with this programme and would buy the VCR’s/DVD’s as soon as they were released. It was a bit like the Monkees, not that I was around at that time, but a sort of packaged, canned laughter thing that’s been consigned to the HMV bargain basket of every episode for £20, which kinda devalues programmes that you grow up with.

Leave a Reply

