All Geek To Me

Pure Geekness

Fullmetal Alchemist

By Geeky Gem

As some of you may know I read comics, which I enjoy very much, but I also read Manga. Manga is a Japanese graphic novel that can go on for a number of volumes. I have read a few different ones but again thanks to a few friends I got pointed in the direction of one they thought I might like.

 

Fullmetal Alchemist is written and illustrated by Hiromu Arakawa, the world of Fullmetal Alchemist is styled on the European industrial revolution. It is set in the fictional universe where alchemy is one of the most advanced scientific techniques known to man, the story follows the brothers Edward and Alphonse Elric, who want to restore their bodies after a disastrous failed attempt to bring their mother back to life through alchemy.

 

 

 

The manga was released in August 2001 and ran until June 2010 in that time 27 volumes were published. It also spawned two anime shows, one that loosely follows the tale set out in manga and the other that follows the story very closely. Fullmetal Alchemist (from here on in shall be refered to as FMA), has also had a movie, to bridge the story from the first anime and tie it up nicely, there are video games, a soundtrack and even a collectible card game.

 

 I havent finished reading them all just yet, but what I have read so far I really enjoyed. The story is fast paced and never gives up, the fight scenes are fantastic and yes they can run over 5 or 6 pages but they are brilliantly drawn and I never feel like I am reading a manga. To be honest I can read a whole volume in one go, that’s how much I can get lost in the story. The characters are rich and you really are backing Ed and Al all the time. The supporting cast of characters must not be forgotten. Winry Rockbell and her Granny are the only people that keep Ed and Al grounded thought the story as they search for the fabled Philosopher’s Stone in order to restore what was taking from them.

 

 

 

I just can’t put the manga’s down and I cant wait to get to the end of story, the anime is brilliant as well but I will leave that untill another time I don’t want to spoil you with that now. If you have never read a manga before but are willing to give it a try then I suggest you try this one. It is fantastic.

 

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Fullmetal Alchemist

  1. Scoot on said:

    The only thing that has put me off manga is the animation. Growing up with Dragon ball Z you tend to look upon a majority of animation as being very similar. I’m sure, as your article indicates, that the storylines can be quite compelling. But, faced with the volumes of manga on the shelves at the Forbidden Planet , it’s difficult to know where to start! I tend to sway towards Marvel because the cartoons are art forms in themselves. You only have to look at Greg Horn’s work which, along with great story lines, deserves a special place in the Tate

    • I can see where you are coming from there, I too love Dragon Ball Z and have an article planned about that coming up soon. I can switch between manga and comic’s which is great as I get to enjoy two very diffent styles. Thanks once again for taking the time to comment.
      Geeky Gem 🙂

Leave a Reply

