All Geek To Me

Pure Geekness

World of Warcraft: Or How To Lose Hours Of Your Life In One Go.

By Geeky Gem 

Now we all know that I am geek, but did you know I am the type of geek that likes to play online games? Well just one online game to be honest, not that many online games were played before I got into this one, but I am ever so glad I did. I’ve been playing this online game for about two years now on and off. I am of course talking about World of Warcraft, or WoW, to those in the know.

 WoW is massive multi-player online role-playing game or MMORPG by Blizzard Entertainment. It is the fourth game released in the Warcraft universe, the first being Warcraft: Orcs and Humans back in 1994. WoW takes place within the world of Azeroth, about four years after the events in Blizzard’s previous Warcraft release, Warcraft III: The Frozen Throne. The game came out in November 2004, 10 years after the first Warcraft game hit the shelves.

The game is so addictive, it has expension packs in order to make the world bigger for players, these are The Burning Crusade, Wrath of the Lich King and Cataclysm. There is soon to be a new expension pack called Mists of Pandoria.

 In game you can choose a number of races with a number of roles. You can be anything from a Human to an Elf, and have the skills of a Mage, right though to a Paladin.

MMORPGing is not for everyone and I can see why, it can be a bit of pain when there are loads of poeple around trying to talk to you and all you want to do is kill the big bad beasty that is coming right for you. I however really enjoying playing this game and will spend hours at a time lost in the rich world and story as I try to level my Paladin higher then my Boyfriends Mage.

The graphics in the game are really good, and some levels you get to fly a Dragon or Girffin depending on the race you choose to be. The game is set out for all levels of gamers from the novice to the well experianced and this is a good thing, as we all have to start somewhere. If you have never played it before and fancy giving it go then I would reconmend it.

Happy Gaming.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “World of Warcraft: Or How To Lose Hours Of Your Life In One Go.

  1. Scoot on said:

    A friend is addicted to WOW and begrudges me mentioning the game. The reason is the amount of time that, upon reflection, they feel that they have wasted with their life in this virtual world. It’s a double-edged sword escapism and addiction. I remember spending hours, days playing Doom. The manager in the office was also addicted and would set aside Friday afternoon as a Doom fest over the network! When you look back and reflect upon the time you spent in front of a PC, it’s mixed with feelings of nostalgia, as the graphics were poor but hey who cares, and did I really commit months of my existence to that!

    • Hi Scoot, Thanks again for taking the time to comment on this article. I argree with you, when I sit back and think how many hours I have already lost to WoW it seems stupid and I wonder why I do it. Then I think about how much fun I have playing it and forget about what I was thinking.

      Geeky Gem 🙂

Leave a Reply

