All Geek To Me

Pure Geekness

Take Flight With Dragons

By Geeky Gem

 I am going to start by saying I love Dragons. I think they are one of the most interesting mythical creatures out there. I like the fact they can fly, breath fire and in some cases be tamed in order to be ridden. They fascinate me, so here I want to share with you my top five movies that include a Dragon. Now the dragons on this list are either the main character or just happened to be in the movie.

 Pete’s Dragon

 

Pete’s Dragon I believe was the first film I ever saw with a Dragon in it, I loved this movie and often watched it with my Grampy, so it holds a special place in my heart. The story is about an orphan boy called Pete who has a very special, very secret friend called Elliot who happens to be a Dragon. The story is sweet and is really about Pete and Elliot, the trouble they get in to and how they get out of it.

 

Dragonheart

 

Dragonheart has to be up here in the Dragon list as Draco is played by Sean Connery who has an awesome voice for such a fantastical creature. The cast is very rich in the movie with Denis Quiad and David Thewlis fitting the bill. There was just something about this one that I thought was brilliant. I think it is down to the fact that they basically go around conning villages into helping with their Dragon problem, which to me is funny.

 

Reign of Fire

Slightly more grown up movie here, with Dragons burning the place up. Basically a brood of fire-breathing dragons emerges from the earth and begins setting fire to everything, establishing dominance over the planet. Which is really good. Another all star cast in this one with Christian Bale and Gerard Butler. Although this movie is only a 12, the Dragon’s in this one are, unlike the other two I have mentioned, not friendly, and are in fact scary and want the death of all the humans. It adds a grown up edge to Dragon’s, not all of them can talk and want to be your friend.

 

The 7th Voyage of Sinbad

 

Now this movie doesn’t have a Dragon at the heart of the story, but we here at All Geek like Ray Harryhausen so much I had to include this Dragon on the list. I love these movies, OK the the effects are dated and they don’t age well (umm speak for yourself Gem!! (Hmsbeefnuts)), but for the time in which they were released they were fantastic. I mean look at this fantastic beast, it’s amazing. In case you want to know what the film is about, a princess is shrunken by an evil wizard, Sinbad must undertake a quest to an island of monsters to cure her and prevent a war.

 

How to Train Your Dragon

 

I know, I’ve gone back to a kid’s movie, but I couldn’t leave this off the list seen as I watch it about once a month. Yes that’s right folks, I know it word for word, I cant help it, it is brilliant and for all the right reasons, Dragon riding, beautiful scenes and backdrops. All paired up with fantastic music and a wonderful story. A hapless young Viking who aspires to hunt dragons becomes the unlikely friend of a young dragon himself, and learns there may be more to the creatures than he assumed.

 

There we have it, five of my all time favourite movies with Dragons in them. If you haven’t seen any of theses then why not give them a go? There are so many I missed out like Dragonslayer and Harry Potter and Deathly Hallows Part 2, both of which have fantastic Dragons in. Not to mention B-movie fair Dragon Wars. Any way, keep your eyes to the skies, you never know when these brilliant beasts may return.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Take Flight With Dragons

  1. I have fond memories of watching “Pete’s Dragon” with my grandfather.

    • Thank you Robbinsrealm for taking tha time to read and comment Take Flight with Dragons, Pete’s Dragon has that effect on me too. I always think of my grandfather when I watch it.

      Geeky Gem 🙂

  2. I know I saw Pete’s Dragon once, long ago, but I don’t remember it. The others I’ve seen (except Sinbad) and enjoyed. But the ultimate dragon movie will soon be here when The Hobbit hits screens. I can’t wait to see Smaug on the big screen.

    • Atoasttodragons, Thank you for taking the time to read and comment also. If you get a chance to see the Sinbad movie, I would its epic.

      Yes Smaug is going to be fantastic, I can’t wait.

      Geeky Gem 🙂

Leave a Reply

