All Geek To Me

Pure Geekness

Buffy the Vampire Slayer

 By Geeky Gem

Back before vampire’s sparkled and two vampire brothers fell in love with one girl, there was a television show that marked my teenage years. Buffy the Vampire Slayer first aired in 1997 after a film of the same name came out.

  

This show was the brain child of Joss “The Avengers” Wheadon, and like I said, was pretty much the only show I watched in my teenage years apart from Friends. As I said, it aired in 1997 and ran until 2003, Wheadon brought Buffy to us through his production company Mutant Enemy Productions. The series follows Buffy Summers played by Sarah Michelle Geller, the latest in a long line of young women known as Vampire Slayers, or simply Slayers. In the series Slayers are well chosen to battle vampires, demons and all other kinds of nasty beasties and forces of darkness. As with every Slayer, Buffy is entrusted to a Watcher, a mentor that trains them in order to fight the darkness. Buffy’s Watcher is Rupert Giles played by the fantastic Anthony Stewart Head, unlike the other Slayers, Buffy has friends who are in the know about what she gets up to at night. They are nicknamed the Scooby Gang, Xander Harris, Willow Rosenberg are the founding members of the Scooby Gang but other character’s dip in an out of the gang. Xander and Willow are played by Nicholas Brendan and Alyson Hannigan.

 

The series then follows them as they try to defeat the army of darkness, as well as having relationships and trying to be normal teenagers. Each series always had what came to be known as a Big Bad, that the gang had to find and kill, if needs be, along with other stories going on. Each episode was different, it was never the same show twice.

Some of my favourite episodes are ones that dont centre around Buffy, but the other members of the Scooby Gang. There is one episode where Giles wakes up to find he has turned into demon. There is another fantastic one where a a group of demons have stolen all the voices of the people of Sunnydale, meaning the whole episdoe relys heavily on the casts facial expressions and the music.

Buffy was everything to me, I never missed a show and when I was going to miss it, my parents or my friends would tape it for me. The Soundtracks were pretty much always in my CD player and I carried a copy of my Watcher guide book with me nearly every where I went. As you can tell, I was even a geek back then. I wasnt the only one thank goodness, I had plenty of friends who also watched the show and sometimes we would gather at someones house and watch the show together.

It was, and still is, an awesome show. Joss Wheadon really hit the nail on the head with this one. It’s just a shame Firefly never took off in the same way as Buffy. Which was a real shame, however Buffy was a fantastic show and if you have never seen, I have to ask why? And that you go find a copy of it and watch it. These vampires dont sparkle they kill and that’s what makes this show awesome.

 

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Buffy the Vampire Slayer

  1. Jonathan on said:

    Buffy the Vampire Slayer will always be one of my favorite television shows. I also never missed an episode and if I wasn’t going to be home, I made sure that my VCR was set.

Leave a Reply

