All Geek To Me

Pure Geekness

Hollywood Must Stop Spoiling Movies

By @hmsbeefnuts

I’m not quite sure what to make of The Amazing Spider-man. It looks both good and bad, but mainly very, very unnecessary. The fact that it is far too early to reboot Spider-man is beside the point, at least of this blog. What is really annoying me about The Amazing Spider-man, and to be fair, a lot of recent Hollywood output, is the raft of scene’s and trailers that we are now subjected too. TASM (The Amazing Spider-man) just seems to be the worst proponent of this trend at the moment.

Sony must have released around 5 scenes from this film already, and there is still around 3 weeks until release. Then there are the trailers. We now have around 2 teaser trailers, and 4 or 5 ‘proper’ trailers for some films, these can be added to if the specific film decides to release international trailers etc. It just seems like far too much is being given away before an audience has even sat in the theatre. I don’t know about you, but I’m rather fond of finding out what happens in a film, when I’m actually sat there watching it for the first time.

I can see why studios pump out the trailers and scenes. In these days of 24/7 news and constant internet speculation, it is important to make sure your movie is out there, that it is ‘trending’, that the most people possible are talking about it, looking at it, arguing about it. I get all that, and especially in the case of TASM, people need to be reassured that this film is worth the reboot, that this film tells a story that the very recent Sam Raimi film did not. It needs to set out it’s stall and shout at the fan boys; ‘Look at me, I’m different. I’m better. You want to see me’. I get all that. I just think that sometimes less, is more.

I haven’t chosen to watch any of the released scenes from TASM. It has been tempting, I won’t lie, but I want to go in fresh, and hopefully be surprised, in a good way, by what I see. I don’t want to have seen even one scene from the film, and hopefully, it will pay off. However, the fact that I choose not to watch a released scene, does not stop people who have from talking about it. It makes certain websites a no go area, I’m looking at you Ain’t it Cool News. Now obvioulsy, the majority of the comments are going to be negative, that is the nature of comments, people feel far more motivated to complain, than to praise, I know, I’ve done it myself, but this only provides me with negative vibes for the film. I have decided then to keep away from a lot of talkbacks and comment threads, at least until I have seen the film.

I have decided to make a pact with myself. For any film I have a real interest in seeing, I will watch only 3 trailers max. I have managed to do this with the July’s other huge superhero film, The Dark Knight Rises. I won’t watch any scenes, I have not watched any scenes. I watched the teaser, and 2 trailers, it looks great, but I am done now, until the film. It’s going to be hard, I really want to watch this film, but I think that from now on, the less I see, the more excited I will be, and the more I will get out of the film, when I sit down to watch it on 20th July.

I have also begun an experiment. I have not watched anything from Brave, not one trailer, not one scene. I am sort of aware of what it is about, I like the posters I have seen a lot. But I want to go in fresh, I want to know nothing about the film, and just let it hit me, and see what I think. So that will be interesting, hopefully.

For me at least, I would prefer for movies to keep their cards closer to their chests.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

