All Geek To Me

Pure Geekness

Fullmetal Alchemist: The Anime

 By Geeky Gem

Not so long ago I regaled you with the tale of my love for the Fullmetal Alchemist Manga. I explained how the Brother’s Elric were on a quest to find the Philosophers stone in order to regain their bodies after an alchemy mishap.

 

 

As I mentioned in my other piece about FMA there are, in fact, two anime’s made. There is the one that was made before the manga was finished, and is just called Fullmetal Alchemist, the one I talk about here, and there is Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood,which I have yet to watch but do have ready to go. Any way if you read my piece on the manga, then you already have a brief knowledge of what I am going on about, if not then go read that and come back, go on I’ll wait.

Done? Good okay here we go. The first half of the animé basically follows that of the manga, but the plots do go away from each other and other things are different in the manga to the show. This happens near the middle of story as the manga series was not complete and this lead to this animé leading off in another direction with the story, thus making them two very different stories but both as enjoyable as one and another. This happens a lot in Japan, they start to make a series before a manga series is finalised and it leads to all sorts of different twists.

When we get to the middle of anime we find that Ed and Alphonse have reunited with their teacher Izumi Curtis in order to find a former lover of Hohenheim (Ed and Al’s father) and the former mentor to their own teacher, Dante. Dante acts as the series’ main antagonist, appearing only in the anime. Centuries ago, the two perfected methods for making the Philosopher’s Stone, achieving a sort of immortality by transferring their soul and intellect into others’ bodies as they age. Dante’s body is giving up and the only way she can survive is to move into a new body with a Philsophers stone that will wipe out an entire town. However there is already a Philosophers stone inside Alphonse leading to him being kidnapped. I will not tell you any more as it may spoil it for you. Needless to say, it is very, very good, and all the loose ends from the series are tied up in Fullmetal Alchemist The Movie: Conqueror of Shamballa, which I have yet to watch but I will.

 The animation on this show is fantastic and both the Japanese and English voice cast are brilliant. Most of the time I will watch a show in both languages as you sometimes get a bit more story in Japanese that can be left out in English, as it wont translate over. However, with FMA, you don’t get that problem. The whole thing translates really well. I always love the opening songs for anime as they are always catchy. However you do find that they change it ever 5 to 10 episodes which is always interesting my favourite one from this anime is by a Japanese band called Larc En Ciel and is called Ready, Steady, Go! It’s a fantastic track and fits this anime really well.

 If you like animation but haven’t tried one yet, then why not give it go, I am off to watch the movie, so I can find out what happens next.

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “Fullmetal Alchemist: The Anime

  1. Now I have to go buy the manga… WordPress is getting expensive.

    • Hi John, Thanks again for taking the time to read the blog. I know WordPress is maing me penny less. Lol. The manga’s are so good you will love them if you read them.

      Geeky Gem 🙂

  2. Cool post! Really enjoyed the FMA manga too!! Wasn’t that gone on the ‘first’ series- but brotherhood is v.good (true to the manga). Great that they went back and made the new series when the manga ended! Was v.happy about that!

    • Hi Mlatimerridley, thank you for reading the blog and making the time to comment. I loved the first season but the ending left me with more question than i had before i started it. I was watching this and reading th manga at the ame time so the two went in down very differents patths and that left me wondering what was going on. So when they went back and made Brotherhood everything made more sense and it was a great show.
      Geeky Gem 🙂

  3. SuperCold on said:

    I think the first FMA is really good but Brotherhood is especially good since it follows the manga exactly without any fillers!

Leave a Reply

