All Geek To Me

Pure Geekness

WEDNESDAY WHIMSY

By @hmsbeefnuts

Hello Wednesday fans, and welcome to some more Whimsy. I must admit, Wednesday is my least favourite day of the week, it doesn’t know what it is really does it? Smack bang in the middle of the week, too far away from Saturday, yet far enough from Monday to be truly tedious. Yet in Britain, it is Orange Wednesday, where customers of Orange Phones can get 2 cinema tickets for the price of one!! Unfortunately, this means the cinema is full, and thus, not a good day to go. Damn you Wednesday, damn you to the very pits of Hades, from whence you emerged, all boring and joyless. Hmm. Excuse me.

Now next Month here at All Geek To Me, we will mostly be getting very excited about The Dark Knight Rises and will be celebrating this fact in our Summer Knights celebration. As such, my usual round up of the films I watched during the last month, will now take the place of this weeks Wednesday Whimsy. So I hope you look forward to some of the articles etc. we have coming up, and hope you enjoy my following look at the films I deemed worthy of a trip to the cinema this month.

SNOW WHITE AND THE HUNTSMAN

 

This feels like ages ago now, having seen Snow White on June 1st. I did like it very much, despite Kirsten Stewart being in it. Someone needs to cheer her up, perhaps buy her a happy meal, and a chocolate shake, because she seems to have one acting mode, look depressingly off into the middle distance, and bite her lip. The fact that clearly she is not the fairest in the land, especially when that land is ruled by Charlise Theron, can be passed by, as in all other aspects, SWATH was pretty damn good. The production design on this movie was fantastic, and the Troll in particular is surely in with a shout as top cinematic monster this year? I liked that the film had quite a retro feel, it seemed to be reaching into the 80’s, to movies such as The Princess Bride and Legend. The dwarfs were quite good too, even if they were used sparingly. Theron was a good big bad, and the only weak point was the Wicked Queens pathetic brother, not menacing enough to be a threat, and with a very stupid hair cut. The first movie this month to promote the axe as the weapon of choice, SWATH, is well worth your time.

PROMETHEUS

 

Oh Boy. The most controversial film for quite some time, and one that has split critics and audience members alike between those who loved it, and those that didn’t get it. Well I saw this film twice, and I loved it both times. Clearly this is a prequel to Alien, although not a direct prequel. Yes, the film is engineered to make you think, it is not a film that gives away all it’s motives. Yes there are curious things that don’t quite seem to fit. For example, the scientists in this film seem extraordinarily stupid, there is a character played by a young man, who is in some very odd old age make up, and certain things are glossed over, character’s actions don’t always seem to fit 100 %. However, I don’t think that Prometheus is any different from any number of films, especially Alien, where scientists act in stupid ways (why would anyone put their face over an opening Alien egg sack?). It is part one of a purposed new trilogy. Things aren’t going to be spoon fed to you, questions will be posed, and not necessarily answered right away. I liked this film more than the original Alien, but not as much as Aliens. I can’t wait for a sequel. The film was beautifully shot, well acted and had a great fan pleasing final shot. This film is a great conversation starter. Go see it with a few friends, and prepare to talk about it for the next few days.

RED TAILS

 

I hadn’t really expected very much from this film, apart from some impressive dog fights and aerial combat scenes, Red Tails hadn’t had a great time of it when it was released earlier this year in the US. I have to say, that I enjoyed this film quite a bit. Yes, the cgi battle scenes were very good, a bit like a more earthly Star Wars, however, I also enjoyed the story, characters and acting. It was not a story I was familiar with, but it was one of bravery and courage in the face of battle, and oppression. It was refreshing to see a Hollywood movie that starred an almost exclusively black cast, and it really made me wonder why Cuba Gooding Jnr. Doesn’t get more quality roles. If you see Red Tails, go for the awesome battle scenes and daring do, but you might be surprised that you start to really care about the characters, seeing as this is a Lucas Film production, and lets be honest, it was very hard to care about most of the characters in the Star Wars Prequels, or Kingdom of the Crystal Skull. Red Tails is a good movie, perfect Sunday afternoon watching.

JAWS

 

I have written about JAWS before, and some of you will know that it is one of my two favourite films ever made. Until a few weeks ago, however, I had never seen it in a cinema. It was worth the trip. I always think that films are meant to be shown theatrically, that no matter how big your TV, how booming your surround sound, it will never compare to the cinema. I have seen JAWS hundreds of times, but I never saw it fully before. The picture popped, the sound was crisp, the viewing was tense and exciting and the best I had ever seen JAWS look. I am a massive fan of these re-releases, and hope that they continue, the classic films of the past need to be experienced the way they were supposed to be experienced, on a huge screen with pristine sound, and in the pitch black, that draws you further into the story and the drama. JAWS was the best film I saw this month, but that isn’t exactly fair, as it is the best film I have ever seen in a theatre, until Raiders of the Lost Ark gets re-released.

ABRAHAM LINCOLN: VAMPIRE HUNTER

When trailers for this movie were showing in front of films I have seen, a collective groan could be heard, barely audible, but still very much there. The groan always annoyed me. Yes I had read the book this movie was based on, and enjoyed the hell out of it, but that still didn’t account for the majority of people thinking this looked stupid, and me thinking it looked amazing. Turns out they were wrong and I was right. This was a very entertaining, and exciting thrill ride, with a touch of real history, that included some of the coolest vampires seen on screen for a good while, and two very inventive action sequences that whilst slightly ridiculous, fit perfectly into the universe of the film. I thought the acting was of a good standard, the production design was outstanding, and for the love of all that is holy, Abe had a gun axe. Even the 3D, which I was forced to view it in, didn’t bother me at all. Easily the best movie Tim Burton has been involved in since Sleepy Hollow, I enjoyed this very very much.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

