All Geek To Me

Pure Geekness

MOVIE OF THE MONTH JULY

By @hmsbeefnuts & @geekygem

Hello fans of film, as it is the beginning of the month, it once again falls to us here at AGTM, to tell you all about what film we will be picking as our movie of the month, this month. People, I’m not going to mess you around. We all know what movie is out this month, we all know what I’m going to pick, and sorry The Amazing Spider-man, it ain’t you.

Another superhero must take the title this month, The Caped Crusader, The Batman, in The Dark Knight Rises. It is no secret that I love Batman, and am a particular fan of Chris Nolan’s cinematic take on Gotham’s protector. Batman Begins is my favourite Bat film, with The Dark Knight coming in a very close second. The last time we saw Batman, he was on the run from Gotham’s Finest and so we join him in his latest adventure in a very interesting place. 8 years after the Joker went wild with gasoline, and Harvey Dent’s image was both ruined, by the Joker, and saved, metaphorically, by The Bat, what state are Batman and Gotham in?

Things won’t be happy for very long if Bane has anything to do with it. Tom Hardy looks great in the role of the man who broke The Bat, and from the trailer, it looks like Bane is causing Gotham more trouble than ever before. Add in Anne Hathaway as Catwoman, and Batman has his hands full. Will Bruce Wayne survive the film? Will Batman? All I know is this film looks absolutely amazing, if in a slightly grim way.

Just before we show you the trailer, as if you haven’t watched it countless times already, and Geekgem tells you about her pick, I would like to announce an AGTM summer event. In celebration of our favourite Dark Knight’s return to cinema screens, July here at AGTM will be having a knightly theme. Summer Knights, (see what we did there?), will be a bit of a celebration, not only f our beloved Dark Knight, but of Knights in general. Expect to see stuff on Game of Thrones, sword fights, noble steeds, and of course, more than a few Bat related articles. This follows on from our Avenging April series that was very successful, so hopefully, we shall continue with Summer Knights. Now, here is the trailer for The Dark Knight Rises, and below that Geekygem, enjoy.

Hmsbeefnuts

Hello everyone, gosh is it that time of month already. Wow that went fast., my guess is just above me Hmsbeefnuts has been bigging up The Dark Knight Rises, not that it needs it. Which makes what I am about to tell you feel like treason as I love the Bat almost as much as Beefnuts does.

In the world of geek you are either a DC fan or Marvel fan, however there is a special camp for those who cant choose and just love comics in general, this is the camp I think I fall in. Seeing as I cant pick The Dark Knight Rises for my Movie for July, I had to have little think but then I recalled a reboot of a Marvel comic was due out, The Amazing Spider-man, that’s right folks I said reboot and it happens only five years after the the final part of Sam Raimi’s trilogy came out.

Peter Parker has been recast into the frankly lovely looking Andrew Garfield he’s just so pretty, sorry my thoughts got away from me there, did I mention he can act? He is joined by Emma Stone and Rhys Ifans. That’s right this month we see Brits taking over Hollywood and two of them are Welsh. Anyway back to the matter at hand, Peter Parker finds a clue that might help him understand why his parents disappeared when he was young. His path puts him on a collision course with Dr. Curt Connors, his father’s former partner. I will say no more as I feel the rest is best told on the big screen. Below is the trailer which I think looks fantastic. Why not just go see both movies this month as they are so going to be awesome.

Geeky Gem

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

