All Geek To Me

Pure Geekness

Summer Knights: Top 5 Sword Fights

By Geeky Gem

Now I love nothing more than to watch a good movie, throw in a sword fight and I am a happy girl. Upon hearing that Hmsbeefnuts would be doing a a Summer Knights theme for this month I had a hard time thinking about what I could do. As we decided not to let everything focus on Batman we thought we could branch out and share other things with the class. That is why I am going to share with you my top 5 sword fights. Now I have included  a video with each of these so you know what  I am talking about.

Westley vs Inigo – The Princess Bride

If you haven’t seen The Princess Bride where have you been, it an awesome movie. Very funny and has some great sword fights in it. This being one of them. Here Westley is fighting Inigo, the fight is witty and fun. Why I am telling you just watch this clip.

 

 

Anakin vs Obi-Wan – Star Wars III: Revenge the Sith

My feelings for the Star Wars prequels aside I had to included this epic conclusion in Anakin’s story. There was something about this fight that was just frankly amazing. As much as I like the fight between  Obi-Wan, Qui-Gin Jinn and Darth Maul, this one was just what the prequels were all about.

 

Jason vs The Skeletons – Jason and the Argonauts

As we here at All Geek have mentioned a number of times we love the work of Ray Harryhausen so it would be a crime not to have this on the list. I love this fight so much its just genius pure and simple. Don’t believe me, take a look for yourself.

 

 

Robin Hood vs Guy of Gisboure – The Adventures of Robin Hood

No list would be complete without at least one fight from the fantastic Robin Hood. Here we see him fighting Sir Guy of Gisboure who is a nasty piece of work. I love this movie as well, old school sword fighting at it its best.

 

 

Aragon vs Lurtz – The Lord of the Rings

this fight is just the start of some of the best fights in the Lord of the Rings trilogy. It had me on the edge of my seat the first time I saw it and it still has the same effect now. It is brilliant, so I’ll shut up and let you watch Aragon vs Lurtz in peace.

 

 

That brings us to the end of the sword fighting I hope you enjoyed the fights here as much as I did. I am sure I could think of more that I have missed out but these are the ones that stick in my mind when I think about sword fights and the epicness they bring to any movie.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Summer Knights: Top 5 Sword Fights

  1. Scooter on said:

    Surely Luke v Darth Vader in Return of the Jedi should have made the list.

    “If you only knew the power of the dark side. Obi-Wan never told you what happened to your father.”
    “He told me enough! He told me you killed him!”
    “No. I am your father.”

    • Hiya Scooter, thanks for reading and taking the time to comment. I thought long and hard about that fight, I wanted it in the list but I wanted to show the fight that not everyone knows so well.

      Geeky Gem 🙂

Leave a Reply

