All Geek To Me

Pure Geekness

Wednesday Whimsy

By @hmsbeefnuts

Hello, and welcome to another Wednesday blog. I was going to write a sum up of my thoughts on WWE this week, but I haven’t had chance yet to watch SummerSlam so I thought I’d leave it to a later date. I’m still being very busy doing work type stuff, and haven’t really had much time for geeky pursuits. Even on my ‘holiday’ I had work to do setting up a new project, but I did manage to see 3 films last week. I have already written about Brave and The Bourne sequel, so all I have left to tell you guys about is the fantastic The Expendables 2.

Now I remember liking the first Expendables, but thinking it could have been so much more. The cast was fine, the story was poor. I tried to watch it again the night before I was going to see the sequel, and I just couldn’t make it through the whole film. However, it didn’t put me off seeing the sequel, I have wanted to see it ever since I saw the trailer, Jason Statham’s line; ‘I know pronounce you man and knife’, it tickled me. I knew this film was going to cut a line between amazing action and 80’s action film parody. I was not disappointed.

The plot is per functionary, but at least I was interested in it this time. The whole cast returns, including expanded turns from Arnie and Bruce Willis. This time the team are joined by Thor’s little brother, Liam Hemmesworth, and Chuck Norris makes a few random appearances, appearing as if from nowhere, to save the day. Logic isn’t high on this films list, but it doesn’t matter, it a whole hell of a lot of fun. Bad guy duties this time are filled by JCVD, and what a prick he is, the final throw down is excellent. All the guys get to sprout referencing lines of dialogue including ‘I’ll be back!’, and ‘Yippee kai yay’. Strangely, and I think this is Chuck Norris’s doing, there is very little swearing, even though men’s heads are popping into a bloody pulp right left and centre, and bodies are torn apart by bullets. I guess Chuck thinks that acceptable, but don’t say fuck!!

I really liked this film. It was a thrill ride from start to finish and if your a fan of 80’s action films, you will love The Expendables 2, a vast improvement on the first film.

Now I thought that I would end this weeks article by showcasing some trailers and videos that I have found entertaining over the past week. First up, I am a huge fan of Jerry Seinfeld and especially Larry David, so what better thing to watch than Jerry talking to Larry of coffee? Comedians in Cars Getting Coffee is Seinfeld’s new project, where he drives around his comedy friends and takes them to get coffee, and they shoot the shit about stuff. The Larry David one is my favourite, but they are all worthwhile watching, check them out here.

I’m not a huge fan of British drama shows, I think America, and HBO in particular, do these kind of things better, but The BBC’s new show, Ripper Street looks very interesting indeed. Set 6 months after the Mary Kelly killing, Ripper Street follows the police of Whitechapel in the aftermath of the Ripper slayings. Check out the very short trailer below.

I don’t know if you guys watch Man Vs Food, but Geeky Gem and I are obsessed by it. Adam Richmond is genius, but the internet does things a little differently. I have been watching Epic Meal Time since they began, and I never miss a week. They make dreams come true, and then they eat them, or so says the banner. These guys love booze, bacon, meat, bacon and more bacon. Check them out here. One of my favourite episodes is below.

The world of Video Games is always an interesting thing to dip in to, and there are few more interesting opinions than Jim Sterling. Here, working for The Escapist, Jim gives us the skinny on what he feels is wrong with the games industry. The Jimquisition is always interesting, even if I don’t always agree with Jim’s point of view. Check them out here.

Well that’s it, another Wednesday comes to a close. Catch you again next week.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

