All Geek To Me

Pure Geekness

My Top 30 Favourite Movies: Part 2

By Geeky Gem

Some of you have caught part one of epic list through My Top 20 Movies, now I forgot to mention that these are in no real order, more the how they popped into my head at the time I wrote them down. I’ve already bought 10 of them so shall we move on to the other 10. I hope you sitting comfortably.

Jurassic Park

 

When I was little there where many things I wanted to be when I grew up, one of them was a paleontologists. Dinosaurs were a big deal to me and I collected all sorts of dinosaur toys, books and everything else. So when this movie came out I begged my dad to take me to see it, I loved it. I don’t think I need to say any more.

 

Beauty and the Beast

Ok so this is the first Disney movie of my list. I love this movie, it’s funny and dark all the same time. I love the story it’s timeless and the songs are fantastic. All I ever wanted was the giant library that Beast shows to Belle, I can’t help it I would love that.

Mulan

In the second of my Disney movies on this list I went for Mulan. I love this movie again for similar reasons to way I love Beauty and the Beast, the story is simple and songs are good. The one thing I love more about this movie is Ming Na who plays Mulan she is brilliant.

 

Taxi

Before Hollywood got their hands on this movie and cast Queen Latifah and Jimmy Fallon in the unneeded re-make of this movie, there was Luc Besson. He had this fantastic idea of having a normal Taxi become a Super Taxi, this movie is funny but also packed with action, if you fancy a watch take note its subtitled as this movie is in French but so worth a watch.

Battle Royale

Yes I have added a few foreign language movies to my list, because other countries make movies to you know and this one is up there with the best of them. I love this movie I really do, the idea of the only way to even out the population of kids to adults is having one class a year battle to the death on live television is just brilliant. Great movie, if you like Hunger Games and Running Man you have to watch this, again its subtitled but dubbed versions are out there.

 

Clash of the Titans

Harryhausen had to make the list right? This is one of my favorite movies of his; the claymation to live action in this movie is fantastic and makes it timeless. If you haven’t seen it you really must, it’s great. Then you can see what Hollywood where trying to live up with its recent re-makes.

The Avengers

Yes I know this move only came out a few months ago, but I am not going to lie to you I loved it and I can’t wait to get my hands on that shiny Blu Ray. It was just everything I wanted it to be and more, so much so I watched twice in the cinema and would gladly gone a few more times to see it on the big screen. Brilliant!

Azumi

Who doesn’t like a good ninja movie? How about a ninja movie where one girl kills a shit load of bad guys in one fight? Sounding good isn’t it? It’s a brilliant move with the right mix of bloody and story. Any it’s a Japanese movie with subtitles but I am sure if you can’t do that there are dubbed ones out for you.

 

The Fifth Element

Luc Besson makes the list for a second time, purely because this movie is awesome. I know I have said that about nearly every movie on this list and to me it’s true. This is a simple story about one man’s mission to save the girl he loves as she saves the planet from alien destruction. Oh and stuff blows up.

Indiana Jones

I had to have Dr. Jones on my list, this guy is the reason I wanted to study history even though I wasn’t very good at it. These movies are great to watch and I can do so over and over again, I just don’t look directly at Kingdom of the Crystal Skull.

There we have it, part 2 of my top 30 movies, until I bring you another 10. For now I must bid you farewell I have movies to watch.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “My Top 30 Favourite Movies: Part 2

Leave a Reply

