All Geek To Me

Pure Geekness

Tenacious D

The Most Awesome Band In The World

By Geeky Gem

Now some of you may have read my blog about the bands I like to listen too, if not you can check it out here. On this list was a band that is just too awesome for words, Tenacious D. They really are like no other band, in this thrilling two-part blog I am going to tell you a little bit about the band and there work. Shall we begin.

Now i have already told you little about how the band got together in the other blog, so who are The D, well they are Jack Black and Kyle Gass people, how could you not know. I Love their music, I think  Tenacious D’s music shows off Jack Black’s fantastic vocal delivery, while letting Kyle Gass showcase his brilliant acoustic guitar playing abilities. Some critics have described their fusion of vulgar absurdist comedy with rock music as “mock rock”. I think they might be right here and one of the best video’s is called F*** Her Gently, that video cracks me up every time I see it. Any way this is not what I was going to tel you about I was going to start by telling you about their first album, which was self titled. However before all that came a little TV show called Tenacious D: The Greatest Band on Earth.

That was the name of the show, however you can find all the episodes on this DVD The Complete Master Works, many of the episodes follow Jack and Kyle as they write and perform some of the songs that will later appear on the self titled album and the soundtrack to Pick of Destiny. It’s a really funny show and if you like The D you will like this show for sure. Its funny but you also get to see behind the scenes of the making of this album –

This album was released in 2001, a friend of mine got this for me as a birthday present that year and needless to say it went straight on my Hi-Fi, I loved the cheeky lyrics and the music. This album has such songs as Tribute, Wonder Boy and F*** Her Gently all of which are awesome songs. Along with little skits featuring Jack and Kyle as they go through the rise of being a band skits such as the friendship test and drive thru are the ones that make me giggle.  Just for the fun of it here is the video for Tribute.

Join me next week as we follow the Rize of the Fenix.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

