All Geek To Me

Pure Geekness

Wednesday Whimsy

Wednesday WhimsyBy: Caelrona

Hiya all! Caelrona here with another steaming cup o’ Wednesday Whimsy for you all. Last week I told you all about how I was going to attempt to stick to HMS’s Wednesday Whimsy style of more or less posting about my week, and it didn’t go nearly as terribly as I thought it would. I mean I sort of felt like I was writing a diary entry, but the finished product wasn’t quite as bad as I thought it would be. However, this week while attempting to write my post I came to the realization that, holy shit my life is boring. Seriously, I couldn’t even come up with one paragraph. The most significant things I’ve done this past week were to buy a ridiculously awesome fuzzy pink hat with bear ears and lose my wallet – all in the same trip, so that was the most exciting two hours of my week. Not exactly blog material, right there. So this week I’m taking us back to my Top 10 Favorite Movies. Now, I know, I’ve already told you about them in a twopart blog. However as I was creating my list for those blogs, I ended up with more than just 10 movies. Some movies made my list at first, but then got bumped because I thought up a movie I loved just as much. Sacrifices had to be made, and I ended up with a small list of amazing movies I really love, that just wouldn’t fit. So without further ado, here are my Top 10 Favorite Movies: Honorable Mentions.

 

Krull

Krull was released in 1983 by Barclays Mercantile in conjunction with Industrial Finance and released by Columbia Pictures. It is an epic styled Science Fiction and Fantasy with a runtime of 121 minutes. The story takes place on the planet of Krull, where the evil being known as ‘The Beast’ and his army of ‘Slayers’ have invaded. Two rival kingdoms decide to unite as one in order to defend against the Beast’s incursion. The union is to be solidified by the marriage of Princess Lyssa and Prince Colwyn, whom come to love each other. During the marriage ceremony The Beast attacks and kidnaps Princess Lyssa, for it is foretold that she will bear a child destined to rule the Galaxy. Prince Colwyn must quest to find and defeat the Beast so that he may save his love, and his planet. This is a really great old-questy type of movie – if you are into those type of things. You might recognize it off of GeekyGem’s list; seems we both love it! I haven’t been able to find a DVD version so expect the grainy goodness that comes from watching old-school VHS. I first watched this movie when I was a wee little girl of maybe 3 or 4 and immediately loved it. Although, I will admit that part of my initial love of this movie is that my name is in it. Nothing holds a small girl captive like having the Princess in a movie share their name. The monster was a little creepy back then (to be honest, still is) but it didn’t scar me for life to watch it at that age (or did it? Ha <.<; ) so it is fairly family friendly in my opinion.

 

Resident Evil

Resident Evil was released in 2002-Current by Constantin Film in conjunction with New Legacy Films, Davis Films and Impact Pictures and was released by Screen Gems in the USA and Pathé in the UK. It is a Horror Fantasy film and the entire series of movies to-date has a runtime of 481 minutes. The series follows the life of a woman named Alice through the zombie apocalypse and beyond. The sixth in the series, Resident Evil: Retribution was just released not too long ago and looks awesome! Is 12 too young to love zombies? I honestly think that is when my obsession with them began. I’ve never played the games (I know, I know. I need to,) but the movies caught my attention; and more importantly they’ve kept it. There are a lot of movies series that lose quality as they progress; each sequel seems to be worse and worse. Maybe it is the zombies talking, but Resident Evil doesn’t do that; at least not for me. Probably not for the kiddies; but definitely a great watch!

 

How To Train Your Dragon

How to Train Your Dragon was made in 2010 by Dreamworks Animation in conjunction with Pacific Data Images and released by Paramount Pictures. It is an animated fantasy adventure movie with a runtime of 98 minutes. It follows an awkward teenage Viking named Hiccup who aspires to follow his tribe’s traditions and become a Dragon Slayer. When he captures a dragon he finds that he is unwilling to kill it and instead befriends it. But hiding a dragon from a village of Dragon Slayers is about as easy as it sounds. How to Train Your Dragon is a great film. When I first saw the trailer my reaction was this sort of odd cross between fan-girl squealing and shout of ‘OMGIWANNASEETHAT!’ What can I say? I love dragons; and this film didn’t disappoint. I saw it twice in theatre and got my hands on a copy of it as soon as I could. This is a fantastic film for all ages; kids will love it and so will adults.

 

The Scorpion King

The Scorpion King was made in 2002 by WWE Studios in conjunction with Alphaville and released by Universal Studios. It is a fantasy-historical action film with a runtime of 92 minutes. The Scorpion King is a prequel/spin-off of The Mummy series of movies, following Mathayus, the Scorpion King, a small character featured in The Mummy Returns. The Scorpion King follows Mathayus and his rise to power as the legendary Scorpion King. Mathayus begins his tale as one of the last of the Akkadians, a race of unparalleled mercenaries and assassins. He is hired to take out the Sorcerer of the tyrant Memnon, but unfortunately – or perhaps fortunately – not all goes to plan. Instead of killing the sorcerer he kidnaps her, and eventually the two learn that they have more in common than originally thought – including a common enemy, the tyrant king Memnon. Mathayus must battle King Memnon to save his Sorceress, whom he has come to love. The Scorpion King has been one of my favorite movies for a long time. It is my go-to movie for sick-in-bed days. I’m not sure why it has held its appeal for all these years; it just has. There is plenty of action to keep me happy, plus it was one of the first things Dwayne ‘The Rock’ Johnson acted in, so there’s always that to make it awesome.

 

Robin Hood: Men In Tights

Robin Hood: Men In Tights was released in 1993 by Gaumont in conjunction with Brooksfilms, and was released by 20th Century Fox, Columbia Tristar Films and Distributors International. It is a fantasy-action comedy, with a runtime of 104 minutes. Robin Hood: Men In Tights is a comedic romp through the tale of Robin Hood. It follows Robin of Loxely and his band of Merry Men in their campaign to oust the odious Prince John, whom has taken control of the kingdom whilst his brother, the good King Richard, is off fighting in the crusades. Robin also endeavors to regain his family lands and save the fair Maid Marian from the unsavory advances of the Sheriff of Rottingham. I know that there are other Robin Hood movies out there; some arguably better than RH:MIT. However, this has always been one of my favorite movies. It is always great for a laugh, plus Cary Elwes is fantastic in this. I saw it when I was fairly young, and it quickly cemented its place as one of my favorite movies.

 

Well, there you have it! The finishing touches on my list of favorite movies. Cutting these from the original list was a hard thing to do. I love all these movies just as much as the ones that made the actual list, and I felt that they deserved mentioning as well. I have my reasons for not including them in the Top 10, but rest assured that entertainment value was not one of those reasons. These movies are all excellent films, and if you haven’t seen any of them then I highly suggest you plunk your rear end in a seat and turn on the DVD player, because you are sorely missing out. There are a lot of other great films out there, but for me these take the cake.

Until next time;

Caelrona – signing off! ❤

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

