All Geek To Me

Pure Geekness

12 Movies of Christmas: Gremlins

By Geeky Gem

Well here we are again as we move onto to my second movie of Christmas, and as you can see from the title I have picked another movie set at Christmas but not about the festive day at all. Gremlins was always one of favourite movies as a kid. This first time I saw this with my little brother he made me check under his bed for a month just in case.

Gremlins came out in 1984 agin I wasnt old enough to this movie first time round and yes I own it on DVD, the thing I love about this movie is the Gremlins and just how funny they are. I know everyone loves Gizmo and so do I but I always liked Stripe he was cool, and nasty to boot. This movie was the thing of nightmares for some people but not for me.

The story is about a young man called Billy Peltzer (Zach Galligan) whose father brings him home a new pet called a Mogwai that he got from a gentleman in China Town. Upon receiving the Mogwai Billy’s father tells him there a certain rules to looking after him. The rules are simple enough – never expose it to bright light (especially sunlight, which will kill it); never get it wet (which will make it multiply); and, most importantly: never, ever feed it after midnight. I bet your thinking well that’s easy how can he mess this up. Well he does and whole bunch of Mogwai’s are born but they are not like Gizmo at all.

They are mean and nasty and live to make Gizmo’s life a hell, they become too much for Billy and eat after midnight meaning they evolve and start running amuck all over town. They get into every thing in an attempt to take over the town of  Kingston Falls, as Billy and his friends Pete Fountaine (Corey Feldman), Kate Beringer (Phoebe Cates) and neighbour Murray Futterman (Dick Miller) take up the fight with Gizmo in order to stop them.

This movie was directed by Joe Dante and the screen play written by Chris Columbus and they do a brilliant job in bringing this movie to life and forever embedding it in my memory if you havent seen it then you really have too, its a great movie.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

