All Geek To Me

Pure Geekness

12 Movies of Christmas: The Nightmare Before Christmas

By Geeky Gem

Well I hope you are enjoying the 12 movies of Christmas, I know I am. Both Hmsbeefnuts and Caelrona have picked movies I like and some I have never seen. So I will try to watch them too. However we are moving on to movie 3 of m choices and it should come as no surprise to many of friends that it is The Nightmare Before Christmas.

I can remember the first time I saw the trailer for this movie, I had been taken to see The Lion King by my parents and this trailer came on I turned to my Dad and said “I have to see that, it looks great” my parents being my parents were forced to watch it in the cinema with me. I loved it and I still do, the story is funny and the songs are fantastic.  I even went to see a few years ago when it was released in 3D Kirkie Chick and I loved it.

The story is set around this gut above Mr Jack Skellington, who lives in Halloween Town. Naturally they make the holiday of Halloween come to life, however Jack is getting bored with Halloween and yearns for something more. It is then that discovers the holiday town of Christmas and to the surprise of the good people of Halloween town decides they can have Christmas too.

This leads Jack on a path to bring Christmas to the world however his friend Sally has her doubts and is hiding her love for Jack from him and she finds it hard to tell him its a bad idea to attempt Christmas.

Now this movie did come from the mind of Tim Burton however he did not direct it, he left it in the very capable hands of Henry Selick. Tim Burton came up with story and the story was then adopted for screen by Michael McDowell and Caroline Thompson. Danny Elfman was the voice of Jack in this movie and I think he does a brilliant job, he also did some of the songs and that what makes this movie below is the video of my favourite song – Jack’s Lement.

If you haven’t seen this movie and want to watch something light and funny then this is the movie for you.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

