All Geek To Me

Pure Geekness

12 Movies of Christmas: The Chronicles of Narnia

By: Caelrona

imagesca9ak285-copy4

Hiya all! Another week is done and gone, so here I am back in action to bring to you number 3 on the list of my 4 Favorite Christmas Movies. Previous blogs have brought you numbers 1 and 2, Rent and How The Grinch Stole Christmas respectively. Number 3 brings us to a really amazing movie; The Chronicles of Narnia; The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe. This movie is visually stunning and is really great for watching during winter (especially if you don’t get snow, like me!) Right then, lets be off shall we?

12-19-12ww1

The Chronicles of Narnia; The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe (from now on simply; Narnia, that is far too much to keep typing!) was created in 2005 by Walden Media in conjunction with Walt Disney Pictures and was released by Walt Disney Pictures. It is an epic adventure fantasy film based on the 1950 children’s novel of the same name written by C.S. Lewis. The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe was the first published and second chronological novel in C.S. Lewis’s children’s epic fantasy series, The Chronicles of Narnia. It has a respectable runtime of 143 minutes.12-19-12ww2

 

I have loved this movie since it came out. I’m a big fan of the entire series, but the first one is the best in my opinion. Maybe it’s because I read the book when I was a child or maybe because I love pretty much anything fantastical, or perhaps a fair bit of combination of them both but this film really grabbed me and sort of ran away. I can’t even begin to count to number of times I’ve seen this movie, but it never gets old for me. The cinematics in this are spectacular. I’d say some of the cinematography even rivals parts of the Lord of the Rings series. The computer generated graphics aren’t half bad either. Aslan is incredibly well rendered, and I love the phoenix when they appear near the end.

12-19-12ww3

The Chronicles of Narnia; The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe follows the tale of the Penseive children and their first trip to the magical world of Narnia, where they must over throw an evil, tyrannical witch and restore summer to a land that has seen an everlasting winter. One of the first signs that summer is coming is Christmas, which hasn’t happened in Narnia for many years. In fact one of the very first notable quotes in the movie is Mister Tumnus the fawn muttering, ‘Always winter, never Christmas.’ When he appears, Father Christmas brings the Penseive children gifts to help them in their quest. He also gives them hope, ‘Winter is almost over.’ While not a big part, the theme is strong and I think it is a very touching moment. It does tie the rest of the story together, since Saint Nick is where they get the weapons they use later to fight the White Witch.

12-19-12ww4

Well, that is all for today, my third installment of Christmas films! Next week I’ll be bringing you the final film on my list, Edward Scissorhands. After that possibly some Christmas anime, even though it’ll be too late for the season (it wouldn’t be, if people would seed the torrents *hinthint* so I could finish downloading.)

Until next time, Happy Holidays;

Caelrona – signing off! ❤

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

