All Geek To Me

Pure Geekness

My Guilty Gaming Pleasure

By Caelrona

Hiya All! Caelrona here, and this time I’m here to have a chat about one of my biggest Guilty Gaming Pleasures… Harvest Moon. Now I know that Harvest Moon gets a lot of flak from a lot of people, mainly because they don’t see the appeal of raising crops and animals in a video game. To be honest, when I first picked it up that pretty much summed up my reaction as well; “Farm in a video game? I’m too lazy to go weed the garden in real life, but they have a video game for farming.. Ehh.” But eventually one super boring summer spent at my sister’s house, I finally rented Harvest Moon: A Wonderful Life from the local movie rental place and gave it a go on my GameCube. Let me tell you, Holy Batman! did I get addicted to that game. I spent hours growing crops, raising animals and making friends with the townsfolk. I ended up married to Cecilia, and was in the process of encouraging my adorable little baby to love animals and crops when I had to return it to the store. I immediately bought my own copy, and when they released a girl version (Harvest Moon: Another Wonderful Life) I immediately went out and bought it. I eventually got around to downloading the ROMS so I could play the earlier versions on Emulator. My addiction, and guilty gaming pleasure, had begun.

The Harvest Moon series of games runs the gamut of Nintendo consoles, starting at the super amazing Super Nintendo, or SNES, and running all the way up to the current Wii. Natsume also released a few special editions on various Playstation consoles (Ps1, Ps2 and PSP.) No doubt Nintendo and Natsume will continue to cash in on what has become a huge series with whatever future consoles they come out with. Not to mention the spin-offs that came from Harvest Moon’s success. I am talking about Rune Factory and Innocent Life. Rune Factory has successfully (so far) spun off into its own series with various titles available on the Wii and DS consoles as well as one port to the PS3. Innocent Life, however, has been limited to one (not very well received) game released on the PSP and later ported to the PS2.

All of the Harvest Moon games have the central theme of working a farm. The game usually starts with your character inheriting a farm from a relative or old friend and being introduced to the farm life and various aspects of said lifestyle such as growing crops, and raising livestock and animals. Also you are expected to find a spouse and get married (and in some games raise your child.) Each game provides goals to complete or objects to gather. Some titles have a mystical or magical aspect to the storyline where you help magical little spirits known as Harvest Sprites and occasionally the Harvest Goddess.

In recent years Harvest Moon has been the inspiration for several social networking games, most available on Facebook. I’m sure most of you have heard of Farmville, but there are many others such as Country Story, Farm Town, Happy Harvest and even Adult Swim’s very own Hemp Tycoon. If you have played any or all of these then you are aware of how freakishly addictive they are, and if you haven’t… well, don’t say I didn’t warn you.

Well, there you have it! My Guilty Gaming Pleasure. In all honesty, I adore these games. It might seem odd to see my copies of Harvest Moon sitting all snuggly on my shelf next to games like Dead Island, Legend of Zelda, or Skyrim but I guess we all have that one little Guilty Gaming Pleasure. Besides, there’s more to me than slaying dragons, kicking zombies in the face or playing my Ocarina. Maybe I’ll see you around the farm next time I play Harvest Moon!

Until next time;

Caelrona, signing off! ❤

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “My Guilty Gaming Pleasure

  1. It was getting to addictive, I blocked it, and that was about a year ago… I see the wife playing it, the upgrades and new look is tempting… Must resist…

  2. dbyers1988 on said:

    I love Harvest Moon! I remember playing it for days on my old N64 and Gamecube. 😀

  3. Caelrona on said:

    Haha! It is nice to know I’m not the only one around with an addiction to Harvest Moon.
    @John – You know you wanna give in. Soo freakishly addicted, aren’t they? =D
    @dbyers1988 – Me too! ^^;; I Still play AWL on Gamecube (in fact, I played it just last week) totally my favorite. Which one is yours?

    • dbyers1988 on said:

      It’s hard to pick which one is my favorite. But if I had to choose, I’d have to say the one for the N64 is my favorite. I never ended up playing all the way through the gamecube one, so that’s why I say the n64 one.

      • Caelrona on said:

        Well depending on which Gamecube one it was, I can understand why. I’ve never finished Magical Melody but I’ve finished both A Wonderful Life and Another Wonderful Life. I think A Wonderful Life came first, pictured 3rd and last above. I think that is probably the one you are referring to? I never got to finish the N64 one, myself. Because I ROMmed it, it had a few problems and was difficult to play =( I’m totally jealous you played it on the N64!

      • dbyers1988 on said:

        A Wonderful Life is the one I was talking about and it was the first released on the Gamecube. I never got the chance to play Another Wonderful Live or Magical Melody. Sorry you didn’t get the chance to play it on the N64! =( What problems were you having? Were you using the keyboard to play it with a ROM or what?

      • Caelrona on said:

        Well, honestly you picked the best one of the bunch to play. Another Wonderful Life was just a girl version (although I liked it best since I AM a girl lol) and Magical Melody got kind of tiring after a bit.
        If I remember correctly it was just the particular ROMs I tried were glitched. I couldn’t send produce off or something silly, but it was pretty annoying. Yes, I was also using a keyboard to play but that shouldn’t have had an effect – I used a keyboard for various other games. =)

      • dbyers1988 on said:

        The one I tried last worked pretty smoothly. Can’t remember where I got it from though. I’ve never tried to use the keyboard while playing the ROMs I have for the N64. One of my friends let me have a PC game controller that he wasn’t using anymore. It’s pretty old, but it works perfect for N64 games. Even kinda looks like an N64 controller. Haha.

Leave a Reply

